top of page
Search
  • becchansen

Headliner Update #2

A couple of weekends past I did the first fitting for both the headliner and the pattern I made from the old C-pillar cards (ain't nobody got time for a $60 pair of C-pillar cards).


First, the headliner:

As you can see the pattern is a big baggy in areas. Specifically between bows 4 and 5, you can see the purple clip I've used to pull that area tight. I've sewn this tighter over this last weekend and need to retry it with the car with the updated mock-up.

I also need a few more bulldog clips for the next fitting, the few I has weren't giving a good impression of what the headliner would look like under tension (8 bulldog clips are not enough).


Another development for the headliner is that for various reasons the sunroof that was fitted to my car will not be refitted during this rebuild. Hence I need a new set of roof bows and to add the second bow tab into the mock-up. Once I've done that I'll do the final dry fit before making the real deal headliner.


Next, the C-pillar card:

I'm pretty happy with the fit of this pattern (patterning from multiple bits of a 50 year old slightly moldy c-pillar card was an experience). This can proceed into production as both the card and the canvas to go on top.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page